2025

NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH

National Cancer Institute Board of Scientific Advisors

CHAIR

Shelton Earp, M.D. 2025

Lineberger Professor of Cancer Research Lineberger Cancer Center Director, UNC Cancer Care University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Chapel Hill, North Carolina

MEMBERS

Chandrakanth Are, M.B.B.S., M.B.A. 2025 Jerald L. and Carolyn J. Varner Professor in Surgical Oncology and Global Health Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education University of Nebraska Medical Center Omaha, Nebraska

Timothy Babich Founder and Director RUNX1 Research Program Santa Barbara, California

Suzanne J. Baker, Ph.D. DeputyDirector St. Jude Comprehensive Cancer Center Endowed Chair in Brain Tumor Research

Endowed Chair in Brain Tumor Research St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Memphis, Tennessee

Karen M. Basen-Engquist, Ph.D., M.P.H. 2026 Professor

Department of Health Disparities Research Division of Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Houston, Texas

Andrew T. Chan, M.D., M.P.H. 2026

Chief, Clinical and Translational Epidemiology Unit, Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH) Director of Epidemiology, MGH Cancer Center Daniel K. Podolsky Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School Boston, Massachusetts

Nelson J. Chao, M.D., M.B.A.

Donald D. and Elizabeth G. Cooke Professor Professor of Medicine and Global Health Duke University School of Medicine Durham, North Carolina

Suzanne D. Conzen, M.D. 2028

Professor and Division Chief Department of Medicine University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Dallas, Texas

Gloria D. Coronado, Ph.D. 2025

Associate Director, Population Sciences Maynard Endowed Prevention and Control Chair University of Arizona Cancer Center Tucson, Arizona

Mark P. Doescher, M.D. 2027

Professor

Department of Family and Preventive Medicine College of Medicine University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Chyke A. Doubeni, M.D., M.P.H. 2025

Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine Associate Director, DEI The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center Chief Health Equity Officer Wexner Medical Center Director, Center for Health Equity The Ohio State University Columbus, Ohio

Debra L. Friedman, M.D.	2029	Wells A. Messersmith, M.D.	2028
Deputy Director		Professor and Head	
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center		Division of Medical Oncology	
Nashville, Tennessee		Department of Medicine	
		University of Colorado School of Medicine	
Jennifer R. Grandis, M.D.	2025	Aurora, Čolorado	
Robert K. Werbe Distinguished Professor			
in Head and Neck Cancer		Karen M. Mustian, Ph.D., M.P.H.	2026
University of California, San Francisco		Dean's Professor of Oncology and Surgery	
San Francisco, California		Departments of Surgery, Radiation Oncology	y
		and Public Health Sciences	
William C. Hahn, M.D., Ph.D.	2029	University of Rochester School of Medicine	
William Rosenberg Professor of Medicine		and Dentistry	
Department of Medicine		Rochester, New York	
Harvard Medical School			
Boston, Massachusetts		Lisa A. Newman, M.D., M.P.H.	2027
		Professor of Surgery	
Dorothy K. Hatsukami, Ph.D.	2026	Chief, Division of Breast Surgery	
Forster Family Chair in Cancer Prevention		Weill Cornell Medicine	
Masonic Cancer Center		New York, New York	
Professor			
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Science	ences	Raymond U. Osarogiagbon, M.B.B.S.	2027
University of Minnesota		Adjunct Research Professor	
Minneapolis, Minnesota		Department of Medicine	
		Vanderbilt University	
Trey Ideker, Ph.D.	2025	Chief Scientist	
Professor		Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation	
Department of Medicine		Memphis, Tennessee	
University of California, San Diego		Wallanders A. Daniella Dl. D. M.D.H.	2020
La Jolla, California		Katharine A. Rendle, Ph.D., M.P.H. Assistant Professor	2029
Michelle M. Le Beau, Ph.D.	2025	Department of Family Medicine and Commi	unity
Arthur and Marian Edelstein Professor		Health	·
Emerita of Medicine		University of Pennsylvania	
Director Emerita, University of Chicago		Philadelphia, Pennsylvania	
Comprehensive Cancer Center			
Chief Scientific Officer		Erle S. Robertson, Ph.D.	2026
Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas		Harry P. Schenk Endowed Chair Professor	
Austin, Texas		Vice-Chair	
		Department of Otorhinolaryngology	
Ana Maria Lopez, M.D., M.P.H.,	2027	University of Pennsylvania School of Medic	ine
M.A.C.P., F.R.C.P (London)		Philadelphia, Pennsylvania	
Professor, Medical Oncology and Integrative			
Medicine (ABOIM) & Nutritional Sciences	}	Charles M. Rudin, M.D., Ph.D.	2028
Director, Integrative Oncology		Deputy Director	
Associate Director, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion		Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center	
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center, NCI Designated		New York, New York	
Thomas Jefferson University		Council M Illuich Di D	2027
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania		Cornelia M. Ulrich, Ph.D.	2027
		Chief Scientific Officer and Executive Director	
		Comprehensive Cancer Center Huntsman Cancer Institute	
		University of Utah	
		Salt Lake City, Utah	
		San Lake City, Otan	

Samuel L. Volchenboum, M.D., Ph.D. 2027

Associate Professor of Pediatrics Director, Pediatric Cancer Data Commons Pritzker School of Medicine University of Chicago Chicago, Illinois

George J. Weiner, M.D.

2029

C.E. Block Chair of Cancer Research and Professor Department of Internal Medicine University of Iowa Iowa City, Iowa

Kris C. Wood, Ph.D.

2028

Associate Professor Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology Duke University Durham, North Carolina

Richard C. Zellars, M.D.

2026

William A. Mitchell Professor and Chair Department of Radiation Oncology Simon Comprehensive Cancer Center Indiana University Indianapolis, Indiana

Designated Federal Official

Paulette S. Gray, Ph.D.

Director
Division of Extramural Activities
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland